Search through our knowledge base

How to Reset and Start a New Minecraft World


If you want to start a new world on your Minecraft server this can easily be done and does not require you to purchase another server. There are two ways of doing this and both can be done in just seconds.


Changing to a New Name or Deleting a World.

This is how you would change the world without deleting the old one in case you wanted to go back to it or just keep all of the great memories you had with your friends. All you have to do is go to the Panel and change the value for World field. By default the name is world, we recommend you change the new world to something simple such as world2, but it can be any name you would like.

  • Stop your server
  • Rename the world folder to a new name
  • Start your server.

Another way to load a new world is by deleting your current one and letting a new one generate when you start your server. You can do this by accessing the current world file and deleting it with FTP.

  • Stop your server
  • Delete the current world folders (by default it should be “world”)
  • Start your server

**Note: Either option will generate a new world folder with a completely fresh world.**

Changing Your World Seed.

Some seeds are really fun to play on and you might want to use that world for your server, this can easily be done. Note that you will need to generate a new world if you want to change the seed.

  • Once you are on the Multicraft Panel navigate to “Files” and then to “Config Files”.
  • Here select the server.properties file (named Server Settings).
  • Locate “Level Seed” once the file has opened. 
  • In the box input whatever seed that you would like to use. 
  • Delete or Rename the current world folder and restart your server.
  • Enjoy!